AWARDS: Who Won What At Durham Women’s 2021/22 Celebration

Durham Women hosted their annual Awards Evening for the first time in three years – as the whole club united to celebrate the 2021/22 season.

Players from our senior teams and Regional Talent Club were all present at Ramside Hall on Friday 13th May as the Wildcats reflected another year of progress and success.

Hosted by Andy Sixsmith, the Awards Evening was the first once since the 2018/19 season with COVID putting a stopper to previous plans.

And it was certainly a night to remember as we recognised the achievements of all our teams.

Individual awards were dished-out for each team, with Beth Hepple scooping two first-team trophies – as she took home the Golden Boot and coveted Players’ Player of the Year trophy.

Sarah Wilson was named as Player of the Year while Grace Ayre was awarded the Young Player of the Year prize.

That wasn’t the only award that Ayre claimed, with the defender also earning Durham Cestria’s Player of the Year gong.

Jordan Atkinson was Cestria’s Golden Boot and Players’ Player of the Year winner, with Kirsten Donald taking the Most Improved player prize.

There was also a special presentation to Mark Elliott, who will take a step back this summer after over 13 years of volunteering at the club – most recently working with Durham Cestria.

A full list of winners can be found below:


Golden Boot: Beth Hepple

Young Player: Grace Ayre

Player of the Year: Sarah Wilson

Players’ Player of the Year: Beth Hepple


Golden Boot: Jordan Atkinson

Most Improved: Kirsten Donald

Player of the Year: Grace Ayre

Players’ Player of the Year: Jordan Atkinson

Under 23

Golden Boot: Poppy Pritchard

Most Improved: Freya Johnson

Player of the Year: McKenzie Darrington

Players’ Player of the Year: Zoe Norton

Under 16

Most Improved: Courtney Pigford

Player of the Year: Lucy Mutch

Players’ Player of the Year: Anya Prested

Under 15

Most Improved: Kayleigh Wharton

Player of the Year: Jenny Priestley

Players’ Player of the Year: Freya Sinclair

Under 14

Most Improved: Demi-Leigh Tapping

Player of the Year: Darcey Dixon

Players’ Player: Olivia Little

Under 12

Most Improved: Anna Hind

Player of the Year: Macy Bangura

Players’ Player: Ellen Swan

Under 10

Most Improved: Holly Hudspith

Player of the Year: Aliya Aujla

Players’ Player: Halle Fort

A full gallery of award winners will follow here on the official website on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.