NEWS: Robson Crowned Football Writers’ Player of the Year

Durham Women midfielder Sarah Robson has been crowned as the North East Football Writers’ Association’s women’s player of the year for 2021.

The midfielder becomes the fourth successive recipient of the trophy from the Wildcats – following in the footsteps of Beth Hepple (2018 and 2020) and Kathryn Hill (2019).

Robson enjoyed a memorable 2021, helping Durham to a record-breaking second place finish in the FA Women’s Championship while subsequently playing a key role in Northern Ireland qualifying for a first major tournament.

She will be presented with her trophy at a ceremony at the Ramside Hall on Sunday, March 6.

Hepple will also receive her trophy for 2020 on the same evening.

Elsewhere, the men’s player of the year trophy was awarded to Allan Saint-Maximin of Newcastle United.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.